2015 Silent Sentinel Award Dinner — September 17, 2015


Lynne Garvey Hodge and Nancy Sargeant, Vice Chair of TPSMA Board of Directors. Image by Kathy Strauss, ImageWerks

The Honorable Margaret Milner Richardson received the 2015 Silent Sentinel Award on  September 17, 2015, at the The Woodlands at Algonkian in Sterling, Virginia.


Rebecca Cooper presents the Hon. Margaret Richardson with the 2015 Silent Sentinel award

The annual Silent Sentinel Award honors a person who has been instrumental in advocating for women’s rights in the United States. It highlights and honors outstanding individuals who share common traits with those who stood firmly to secure the 19th Amendment, which prohibits the government from denying any citizen the right to vote because of gender. The Silent Sentinel award was named for the women who stood silently outside the White House in 1917, urging the nation’s leaders to grant women the right to vote. They were subsequently arrested and imprisoned at the Occoquan Workhouse in Lorton, Virginia, where they were beaten and force-fed, events which proved to be a pivotal turning point in the suffrage movement.


Master-of-ceremonies Jan Fox, president of Fox Talks, LLC. Photo by Kathy Strauss, ImageWerks

The Turning Point Suffragist Memorial Association was pleased to honor Ms. Richardson as this year’s recipient at the September 17th Silent Sentinel Award dinner. Ms. Richardson served as the Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service from 1993 to 1997 and was the first woman with executive rank in the Office of the Chief Counsel of the IRS. The award was presented by Rebecca Cooper, Executive-in-Residence at American University’s Kogod School of Business and former host of WJLA-TV’s “Washington Business Report.” Emmy-winning journalist, Jan Fox, president of Fox Talks, LLC, served as Master-of-Ceremonies. Both Ms. Cooper and Ms. Fox are members of TPSMA’s Honorary Board of Directors.

Attendees heard the history of the suffrage movement and the importance of building a memorial to the women who persevered over 72 years to win the vote for American women. The dinner program included talks by Honorary Board members Edith Mayo, curator emeritus of political history at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History (“The Best Kept Secret: Suffrage History”) and Kathleen S. Kilpatrick, curator of the Virginia Capitol and executive director of the Capitol Square Preservation Council in Richmond, Virginia (“Everyday Echoes: Why this Memorial”).

A photo album from the dinner can be found on the TPSMA website at www.suffragistmemorial.org.


Silent Sentinel Award dinner guests: (L-R) D. Scott; Pat Wirth, TPSMA Executive Director; A. McGimsey; E. Bortnick; and V. Kaiser. Photo by Kathy Strauss, Imagewerks

Thank you to our sponsors!

Purple Sponsors

SKMB P.A. – Certified Public Accountants and Business Valuators

Anne Sterling

Advocate Sponsors

Dr. Sandra Treadway

Diana Egozcue

Su Webb (reception sponsor)

Emily McCoy (buffet sponsor)

In-Kind Sponsors

Copy General – Sterling, Va.

Jyothi Sunkari (videography)

Kathy Strauss (photography)

MacImpressions, Inc.

NOVA Parks

The Parsonage Soap Company


1 Comment

September 30, 2015 · 10:51 AM

One response to “2015 Silent Sentinel Award Dinner — September 17, 2015

  1. Pingback: 2015 Silent Sentinel Award Dinner — September 17, 2015 | Virginia NOW Online

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s